Printing DHL Postage Stamps on gutsy

Been pulling my hair again …

Why do I need to use strace just to print a postage stamp? “Ah yes,” I virtually hear a colleague say, “that is because you use such a tinker OS.” Hrmpf …

WARNING: Don’t hit the real print button before having done a successful test print!

Just in case you want to keep your hair: If you try to print a PDF document from a JavaScript button inside a form you might get a message “lp: The printer or class was not found”, or in German (as DHL uses this in its online postage service) “lp: Drucker oder Klasse wurde nicht gefunden.” Your first attempt should prolly be to check whether you actually do have a printer called lp. This is already a brain-dead assumption, but oh well. So, try this:

sudo lpadmin -p <name-of-your-printer-queue> -c lp
sudo lpadmin -E -d lp

Try your test-print again. If it still doesn’t work, you may be in the same situation as I was, i. e. acroread complains about not finding printer “lp” but doesn’t actually try to print to “lp” (and the “lp” in the error message may only be referring to the command line tool) but to “undefined”. I haven’t yet had the nerve to find out why that is, but this fixes printing, then:

sudo lpadmin -p <name-of-your-printer-queue> -c undefined
sudo lpadmin -E -d undefined

6 thoughts on “Printing DHL Postage Stamps on gutsy

  1. Christian says:

    Thanks a lot – had the same problem. Now i could print the postage stamp 🙂

  2. Scachi says:

    That solved my (dhl) problem. Thank you.

  3. Ruediger says:

    Thanks a lot!
    That also solved my problem.

    Note: I am using cups and in order to print i also had to start the class and set it to accepting jobs via the web frontend.

  4. Andreas says:

    On SuSE 10.3 I had to start ‘yast’ and add a new printer named ‘undefined’. I entered exactly the same configuration data as used by the existing printer. Now I have the same physical printer configured using two different names. And then I could print the postage stamp using Adobe acroread 8.1.3.

    The decision of DHL to allow one printout only is a silly thing, since there are so many problems which could prevent a printout (out of ink, paper jam, …). Especially because it is so easy to make as many copies as you want using a simple copymachine!

  5. Some Gut says:

    Hi,

    just wanted to tell you, that I had problems with printing (had DHL to allow me to print a second time)…

    In my mail to them I said I am using Linux, and – believe it or not – they sent me a link to this site!

    Haha.

    They wrote:
    >>
    Helpful are the following links:
    http://brandy25.blogspot.com/2008/06/printing-dhl-postage-stamp.html

    Printing DHL Postage Stamps on gutsy


    <<
    …and of course, that it is Adobe’s fault (which is true btw).

  6. At least they seem to care enough about Linux users to keep those hints in their knowledge system. That’s better than some companies.

Leave a comment